A Guide for Settlers

Visited: 23 times
[1897-1901]. - Guide promoting the colonisation of the Gaspé peninsula.

The main centres of settlement were Saint-Louis (Maria), Saint-Alphonse-de-Caplan, Caplan, Saint-Charles, New-Carlisle, Paspébiac, Saint-Godefroi, Port-Daniel, L'Anse-aux-Gascons, etc.

This brochure was published by the Department of the Colonisation and Mining of the Government of Quebec.

To learn more :

Magazine Gaspésie, "L'occupation de l'arrière-pays", Fall 2003.

Reference :

Musée de la Gaspésie. Fonds Richard Gauthier . P162/6/6.

Leave a Reply

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked with a *